CGTN’s Liling Tan wins award for UN languages series

About CGTN America

The United Nations Correspondents Association has awarded CGTN Correspondent Liling Tan with the joint Bronze medal in the Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize for broadcast media for best media coverage of the United Nations.

Liling Tan interviews Fedor Strzhizhovskiy, press secretary for the Russion Mission to the U.N.

Tan won for her digital series for CGTN and Feature Story News covering the official languages of the United Nations. View the series here.

She received her medal at the 23rd annual UNCA Awards gala on Dec. 5, 2018 at Cipriani in New York City.

The ceremony was presided over by guests of honor U.N. Secretary-General António Guterres, 2018 UNCA Global Citizen of the Year Amal Clooney and 2018 UNCA Global Advocate of the Year Adrian Grenier.

Follow Liling Tan on Twitter @LilingTan

Winners were honored for nine prizes in written and broadcast media, and for coverage of climate change:

Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial prize for written media
In honor of Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe bureau chief at the U.N., who died while on an assignment in Baghdad in 2003.
Gold, Fritz Schaap of Der Spigel
Silver, Didem Tali, freelance
Bronze, Fabiola Ortiz dos Santos, freelance

The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize, for broadcast (TV & Radio) media
In honor of Ricardo Ortega, formerly the New York correspondent for Antena 3 TV of Spain, who died while on an assignment in Haiti in 2004.
Gold, Virginie Herz and Annette Young, France 24
joint Silver, Widad Franco, Fumitaka Sato, Kazutoshi Kodera, NHK Japan broadcasting corporation
joint Silver, Mallick Mnela, Zodiak Broadcasting Station
joint Bronze, Majeed Gly, Rudaw media network
joint Bronze, Liling Tan, Feature Story News and China Global Television.

The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Price for covering climate change
For coverage of sustainable and equitable management of natural resources and the implementation of innovative and ethical solutions in three main categories: climate change, biodiversity, and water.
Gold, Ben Taub, New Yorker
Silver, Thin Lei Win, Thomson Reuters Foundation
Bronze, Patrick Mayoyo, Next Generation Media ltd.

2018 marks also the 70th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations Correspondents Association. The UNCA sponsors press briefings and the annual gala and is associated with the Dag Hammarskjold Fund for Journalists, which sponsors journalists from developing countries for the duration of the annual General Assembly. Prizes amounting to over $60,000 will be distributed among the prize categories and winners.

Follow Liling Tan on Twitter @LilingTan’